Vacation 2011

I just got back from a great vacation with my family. I spent a week in Kentucky with my parents, my brother and his girlfriend, and my lovely wife. My parents rented a house near the Land Between the Lakes, and brought us all along. We spent the bulk of our time fishing, swimming, and cooking meat on the grill.

Naturally, we had plenty of cameras with us, but the newest of the bunch was the Panasonic TS2. This is our first waterproof/underwater camera, so we were able to get some really cool shots that we normally couldn’t get. Like my first time on a jet ski:

I practice my "sexy face" in the mirror every night...

The water was a bit too murky to shoot anything underwater, but we did keep the camera with us while we were swimming near the dock. One day a little dragon fly (a friend pointed out that this is, in fact, a damselfly) landed on Alida while she was on her raft. Something about her made the little bug really comfortable, because he stuck with her the whole time she was in the water.

I was jealous...

One night I saw a toad hop over and take down a beetle. I didn’t have time to run in and grab the 5D MKII, so I grabbed my phone out of my pocket. I was really impressed with the way the iPhone handled the video in such low light:

I have a lot more photos and video to share, but have some work to do before I spend time on them. Until then, you can follow me on Twitter, @HughMSullivan, and see the photos I posted to Instagram.

Oh, and since I’m sure my parents will see this blog post eventually: “Thanks again Mom and Dad!”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

